Cosplay: HTTYD – Astrid Hofferson

September 24, 2014

traindragon-astrid I’m back! And what better way to return than with a stellar How to Train Your Dragon cosplay. I’ll apologize ahead of time in saying that since I’ve been away from my site for quite some time, I’ve lost my long list of image credits (often times done from pure memory). So if you know where I can link back and credit these cosplayers please comment below and I’ll be sure to add it in.

Everything about this cosplay is spot on. From the cosplayer’s facial expression to the detail in the armour and weathered leather. I dare you to find a better cosplayed Astrid on the circuit. I like that the armour, although well-made, still has a cartoon-ish childlike appeal true to the spirit of the movie. I also like that the hair (pretty sure it’s natural) matches Astrid’s hairstyle almost to a T. This cosplay also has a less staged/professional quality that I find refreshing these days with all the photo-shoot and photoshop heavy cosplays floating around the internet (not necessarily a bad thing) For this I’ll easily overlook her shirt colour being more blue than green since it was likely caused by the lighting when the photo was taken. How to Train Your Dragon is probably one of my favourite animated features in awhile (yes, even moreso than Frozen) which is why I’m super excited to be featuring it after a 2 year hiatus. It’s surprisingly witty yet still feel-good fun. Even though the second instalment didn’t have quite the same spark as the original, I still thoroughly loved watching the characters of HTTYD grow and mature in the 5 years that gapped the sequel. I’m planning on waiting a bit before searching for HTTYD2 Astrid cosplays to feature on my site so I can give cosplayers a chance to get a good shot at it. But until then I’ll happily feature the original Viking gang and the amazing cosplays that spawned from it. Kudos to an amazing job well done!

Astridhofferson“Astrid Hofferson is a teen Viking girl of the Hairy Hooligans tribe who attends Dragon Training with Hiccup and the other Viking teens and loves Hiccup as her boyfriend. She’s striking, tough, beautiful and her determined and strong personality makes her hard to impress. Astrid is 14 years old in How To Train Your Dragon, 15 in the series, and 20 in the sequel. She’s Hiccup’s main love interest in the first film and the series, and his longtime girlfriend by the time of the sequel. In spite of initially not liking Hiccup or his new found friendship with Toothless, she soon has her opinion changed, tries to keep Toothless a secret, and starts to like Hiccup as her crush.” – How to train your dragon wiki

Leave a Reply

