Cosplay: Sleeping Beauty – Princess Aurora

October 2, 2012

I’ll be honest. This could very well be a professional model posing in a wonderfully made Princess Aurora costume but that’s OK. I love this “cosplay” for so many reasons. I love the detail of the white underlining featured in some artistic interpretations of Princess Aurora and the two toned fabric detail at the top. I can’t say for sure (I’m around 80% sure) but this wig is perfectly stylized to Aurora’s whimsical do.  There’s not much else to gush about. Stellar model. Stellar costume. Stellar photography. (Note: if anyone can tell me where this photo can be creditted to please leave me a comment, thanks)

I’m sure you don’t need to be told who Princess Aurora is. She as a character was pretty one-dimensional. If my memory is still intact I can probably say that Aurora’s redeeming qualities were that she was nice, she was pretty, and she sang well. I personally never liked the movie Sleeping Beauty. Although I was a sucker for anything Disney in my childhood Sleeping Beauty actually well… scared me. Malificent’s (SPOILER ALERT) transformation into the dragon gave me nightmares as a child. On top of lack of a complex storyline and old fashioned singing numbers (which I was less inclined to attempt to sing along to) it was a movie I watched maybe once or twice and then never turned to again. There’s a huge part of me that wants to go back into my own Disney vault and rewatch all the Disney classics but I feel like Sleeping Beauty will be pretty low on my list. Still though, I was like any other child and always wanted to be Princess Aurora for Halloween because she was the one who wore the pretty pink dress. So sue me.

2 Responses to “Cosplay: Sleeping Beauty – Princess Aurora”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Hey! So I would love to buy this for a Halloween party that I’m attending. Do you know where I could buy this? Please email me.

    • soyoungim Says:

      None of the cosplays on my site are made by me. They are features of amazingly talented cosplayers around the world. All of these costumes are custom made for the people modelling them. It is unlikely they will do commissions since cosplaying is a hobby not usually done for profit. However, you can try to contact them in the links provided on each post. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

