Cosplay: FFXIII – Lightning ‘Éclair Farron’

April 20, 2010

You know when you find something just SO spectacular you have to share? Well I was curbing my Mercy (show about nurses) obsession by doing a little ‘research’ for my blog. I came across the most spectacular cosplay deviant accounts and among them my dream cosplay find. Ever since the preview for the new Final Fantasy came out I’ve been obsessing over its main protagonist Lightning (finally a Final Fantasy where the girls can kick some serious arsenal). I thought it would be near impossible for me to find a cosplay of Lightning that I would like enough to post here, especially not this early on in it’s release. Given Lightning’s unique character design and (let’s be honest) pricey leather costume I figured I’d hold out on the searching for a year until all the pros got a shot at it.

Well I’m not sure if this Rainer Tachibana is a pro but regardless she got Lightning spot on. I won’t gush over the details but I will point out that her eyes are stunning. Whatever colour contact she used better come in purple or brown so I can order myself a batch. Because I’m so ecstatic about this cosplay I’m actually going to post a few of my fave shots of this cosplay. It’s almost like Lightning walked straight out of the game and into real life. I also did a little stalking research (haha in the end I contacted her) and found out that Rainer made the majority of this cosplay herself as well. The jacket and skirt base were made by her tailor (who she informed me she commissions when she’s short on time) and the rest was made herself. Impressive isn’t it? Definitely hit the link though and go to Rainers deviant page to check out more shots of this and all of her other stellar cosplays. Trust me, it won’t be the last time you see her on my site. (credit also to *Omake-Studios@deviant for the photography)

group cosplay is also beyond amazing

“Originally named Éclair Farron, she discarded her birth name after her parents died and chose the name of “Lightning” as a means to escape the vulnerabilities and insecurities of her former self and in order to become a different person — strong enough to care for her young sister Serah. However, this choice only causes things to worsen between them as she grew up to have a rather cold personality that has a tendency to look down upon others including comrades at most times during the start of the adventure… Over the course of the game, Lightning strives to deal with her nature as a l’Cie (people magically marked by a god giving them superhuman strength) while eventually learning her focus to save Cocoon.

Wikipedia: Final Fantasy – Lightning


3 Responses to “Cosplay: FFXIII – Lightning ‘Éclair Farron’”

  1. diomenes Says:

    nice cosplay i love ligthning^^ she is the best

  2. GoogleMyNamexD Says:

    :O I love this costume of her! One of the best ones I saw so far. 🙂


  3. […] I’m dying here. What an AMAZING cosplay. Rainer Tachibana, who previously did the spectacular Lightning cosplay featured on my site, has done it again. I don’t even have words to describe how […]


Leave a Reply

